Uzbekistan Commits To EAEU As An Observer Nation

Posted by

Uzbek President Shavkat Mirziyoyev said that Uzbekistan would sign up to the Kremlin-led Eurasian Economic Union as an observer member, surprising analysts who had thought that Uzbekistan would take full membership of the bloc. Russia, Belarus, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan are members of the EaEU, which is also involved in negotiating Free Trade Agreements and tariff reductions with numerous countries, including China, India and several other Asian nations.

Uzbekistan existed in isolation for 15 years under Islam Karimov. Now that it is emerging into the global system, Mirziyoyev may well have decided that keeping Russia sweet, but at a distance, is the best policy. This means, for now at least, observing the Eurasian Economic Union rather than joining it.

Related Reading


About Us

Russia Briefing is written by Dezan Shira & Associates. The firm has 28 offices throughout Eurasia, including China, Russia, India, and the ASEAN nations, assisting foreign investors into the Eurasian region. Please contact Maria Kotova at for Russian investment advisory or assistance with market intelligence, legal, tax and compliance issues throughout Asia.

Leave a Reply