Russia Recategorizes Some Areas Of The Far North

Posted by

Allows reallocation of State and Regional Budgets to develop infrastructure supporting the Northern Sea Passage

The Russian Government has approved an updated list of regions that fall into the category of the Far North and equivalent territories. This was reported on the website of the Cabinet of Ministers on November 17. The distinction is important as certain areas over the years have attained a level of prosperity and no longer require extensive northern regional funding. This frees up capital to extend financial assistance to the very Far North and especially along some of the coastal towns, where infrastructure is needed to support resident populations and Arctic Ports related to the development of the Northern Sea Passage.

The list includes Yakutia, Nenets Autonomous Okrug, Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug, Kamchatka Territory, Magadan, and Murmansk, as well as certain parts of the Amur, Arkhangelsk, Irkutsk, Sakhalin, Tomsk, Tyumen regions, in addition to the republics of Altai, Buryatia, Karelia, Komi, Tyva, Transbaikal, Krasnoyarsk, Khabarovsk Perm, Primorsky Territories, Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug-Ugra.
“From the geographical point of view, the list of qualifying for Northern Region subsidies has not changed. Residents of all territories included in the previous editions of the list will continue to receive benefits, state guarantees and compensations due to them.” the statement says.

What has been changed is the status of certain territories of the Republic of Karelia (near Finland) to the regions of the Far North and equivalent areas. Buryatia (around Lake Baikal) and the Komi-Permyatsky Autonomous District of the Perm Territory (Urals) were also excluded from the list.

The Deputy Prime Minister of the Government of Karelia Dmitry Rodionov, commenting on this decision, said that it would not affect the receipt of northern allowances.

Related Reading


About Us

Russia Briefing is written by Dezan Shira & Associates. The firm has 28 offices throughout Eurasia, including China, Russia, India, and the ASEAN nations, assisting foreign investors into the Eurasian region. Please contact Maria Kotova at for Russian investment advisory or assistance with market intelligence, legal, tax and compliance issues throughout Asia.

Leave a Reply